Kino Teatr to host film awards

As Part of The Trash'd New Wave Festival 2016, Trash Cannes will be showing 18 films in this year's contest and awarding prizes.

Friday, 18th November 2016, 3:47 pm
Trash'd Cannes film awar ceremony at Kino Teatr

The judges are film-maker Rebecca Marshall, television writer and comedian Lee Cornes, documentary-maker Archie Laughlan, acclaimed writer Trix Worrell, and Keith Rodway, who is a musician and film-maker but also creative director of the festival.

The judges will have no knowledge of the films prior to a private screening, where they will assess and assign awards in eight categories: Best Film (the Leigh Dyer Award), Best Screenplay, Best Soundtrack, Best Actor, Best Use of Prop, Best Art Direction, Best Cinematography and Best Special Effects (The Trevor Award). The winner of Best Film will be presented with the Leigh Dyer award, which is inscribed with the previous winners’ names, to keep until the next Film Challenge in 2017.

The award ceremony will take place at the Kino Teatr in St Leonards from 7.30pm on Thursday November 17, with special projections by visual effects artist Adam Seeley being shown inside the foyer, some of which will be visible from outside the venue. Tickets are £4, and can be booked online now via the Kino’s website.

Don’t miss out on all the latest breaking news where you live.

Here are four ways you can be sure you’ll be amongst the first to know what’s going on.

1) Make our website your homepage at 2) Like our Facebook page at

3) Follow us on Twitter @HastingsObs

4) Register with us by clicking on ‘sign in’ (top right corner). You can then receive our daily newsletter AND add your point of view to stories that you read here.

And do share with your family and friends - so they don’t miss out!

The Hastings Observer - always the first with your local news.

Be part of it.