Candidates announced for Battle by-election

Parish council election news.
Parish council election news.

A final list of candidates standing in the Battle town by-election on July 16 have been unveiled.

Liberal Democrat Kevin Dixon had previously thrown his hat into the ring, and he will be joined in the race by Timothy MacPherson standing for Labour and Hazel Sharman for the Conservatives, while Tony Smith will be hoping to win the district council seat for UKIP.

Kevin Dixon served as a Rother District Council for the Battle Town Ward for eight years until he lost his seat to Conservative candidate Martin Noakes back in May.

He lost by just 65 votes.

But after just three weeks, ill-health forced Mr Noakes to stand down, prompting Rother to call a by-election for July.