Food bank is set to open doors in centre of Rye

18/5/14- 1st Battle Cub Scouts collecting food  for Battle food bank. SUS-140520-091647001
18/5/14- 1st Battle Cub Scouts collecting food for Battle food bank. SUS-140520-091647001

A food bank is opening in Rye before Christmas.

The food distribution centre will be based at Rye Baptist Church in Cinque Ports Street on Thursday December 4.

It has been set up by the Reverend Simon Earl and follows food banks opening at Bexhill and Battle.

Over the past few months there has been careful planning by an enthusiastic group of people led by Gillian Jarrett.

The food bank will be open every Thursday from 10am - 12 noon.

Simon Earl said: “ This is the culmination of 12 months negotiation between Bexhill Foodbank and Churches Together in Rye.

“For the past 18 months we have had boxes of food in various location in Rye that have been accessed on a regular basis by people who have found themselves in a crisis without food in their cupboard.

“Now rather than moving food over from Bexhill to fulfil this demand it will be distributed by the church folk of the Rye area from food donated by local people.”

Bexhill Foodbank is part of the Trussell Trust chain of foodbanks, which provide food for three balanced meals for three days to people in crisis.

These people are usually given a voucher by local care professionals, which they present at the distribution centre in order to get the food.

Food is collected from the public donations into the drop bins at local churches and several local shops. If you would like to know what food we need then there is a basic list on the Foodbank website.

Simon Earl said: “Over the past few months all foodbanks have seen a major increase in people at their doors and this trend has also been observed in the Rye area, which is why the timing of opening this new distribution centre is most opportune.

More information about Bexhill Foodbank can be found at but if you would like specific information about the Rye Branch then please call 07934182256 or email for any of the three branches.