MP to hold meeting to discuss boundary changes

Share this article

BATTLE’S MP has organised a public meeting to discuss controversial plans to create a new Parliamentary constituency, which could see voters in Battle, Wealden and Kent voting for the same MP at the next General Election.

The Boundary Commission has proposed the existing Bexhill and Battle constituency is split in two, with Battle and most of rural Rother becoming part of the New Weald constituency.

The new constituency would include nine wards from the existing Wealden constituency, including Crowborough, and seven Borough of Tunbridge Wells wards, including Cranbrook.

Last month Bexhill and Battle MP Greg Barker launched a campaign against the plans to split his constituency in two, saying the plans for the new constituency “make no sense at all”.

Mr Barker will join county and district councillor for Battle, Kathryn Field, at a public meeting on Friday October 14 to discuss the proposed changes to local Parliamentary constituency boundaries.

The meeting will start at 7pm at Claverham Community College in Battle and is open to anyone who would like to learn more about the proposals, which will come into effect at the next General Election.

Mr Barker said: “The proposed boundary changes would have a big impact on Battle’s relationship with its Member of Parliament and I am very keen to have the opportunity to discuss them with as many local people as possible.

“I hope that we will have a good turn out next Friday, not just from the town but from surrounding villages which are also affected.”

The proposed new Bexhill constituency will comprise almost half of the existing Bexhill and Battle constituency and will also include Heathfield, three wards from the existing Wealden constituency, including Hailsham, and two wards from Lewes, including Polegate.

The Boundary Commission proposes the Hastings and Rye constituency remain the same.

The proposals are open to public consultation until December 5 2011 and can be viewed at www.consultation.boundarycommissionfor