Tories lose overall control of Rother District Council

The Rother District Council election count took place in the De La Warr Pavilion
The Rother District Council election count took place in the De La Warr Pavilion

The Conservative Party has lost overall control of Rother District Council.

Heading into the elections on May 2, the Tories held 29 of the 38 council seats.

However, after losing 12 of the 13 seats it held in Bexhill, the Conservative Party lost overall control of the council when the Liberal Democrats won in North Battle, Netherfield and Whatlington.

The new make-up of Rother District Council is: 13 Independents, 14 Conservatives, 7 Liberal Democrats, 3 Labour and 1 Green.

For full coverage of today's results, click here.

FULL RESULTS (in order they were announced)

Bexhill Central

Abul Azad (Cons) 555
Christine Bayliss (Lab) 788
Paul Courtel (Lab) 694
Joy Hughes (Con) 416
Roger Williams (UKIP) 226
Turnout was 36.62 per cent

Bexhill Kewhurst

John Dicker (UKIP) 151
Brian Drayson (Ind) 1,071
Brian Kentfield (Con) 553
Martin Kenward (Con) 388
Lynn Langlands (Ind) 1,181
John Walker (Lab) 167
Turnout was 44.03 per cent

Bexhill Old Town and Worsham

Vivienne Bond (Lib Dems) 236
Bill Bullin (Ind) 254
Polly Gray (Green) 326
Gillian Johnson (Con) 220
Chris Madeley (Ind) 286
Michael Phillips (UKIP) 157
Jacqueline Potts (Con) 177
Richard Sage (Lab) 141
Turnout was 31.82 per cent

Bexhill Collington

Patrick Douart (Con) 318
Deirdre Earl-Williams (Ind) 1,287
John Gray (Green) 232
Doug Oliver (Ind) 1,234
Alison Phillips (UKIP) 134
Bob Sharkey (Lab) 106
Mark Todd (Green) 132
Maurice Watson (UKIP) 247
Turnout was 48.88 per cent

Bexhill Pebsham and St Michaels

Jay Brewerton (Ind) 738
Barbara Clark (Con) 309
Charles Clark (Ind) 1,022
Michael Graham (UKIP) 178
Betty Waterhouse (Con) 174
Turnout was 37.47 per cent

Bexhill Sackville

Sheila Allen-Rogers (UKIP) 238
Alan Bearne (Lab) 290
Terry Byrne (Ind) 718
Ian Hollidge (Con) 484
Hazel Timpe (Ind) 694
Robert Wheeler (Con) 409
Turnout was 37.69 per cent

Bexhill Sidley

Sharon Blagrove (Con) 382
Jim Carroll (Con) 438
Sam Coleman (Lab) 498
Roger McCarthy (Lab) 381
John Zipser (UKIP) 285
Turnout was 27.95 per cent

Brede and Udimore

Wayne Andrews (UKIP) 59
James Cakebread (Lab) 78
Derek Greenup (Lib Dem) 58
Ian Jenkins (Ind) 260
Jonathan Johnson (Con) 303
Turnout was 41.45 per cent

Bexhill St Marks

Wendy Dash (Lib Dems) 128
Michael Ensor (Con) 318
Sarah Errington (Ind) 1,116
Kathy Harmer (Ind) 1,213

Kay Maynard (Con) 243
Jacqueline Walker (Lab) 98
Christine Zipser (UKIP) 116
Turnout was 46.06 per cent

Burwash and the Weald

John Barnes (Con) 683
Eleanor Kirby-Green (Con) 606

Laurel Lindstrom (Lib Dem) 360
Mary Varrall (Lib Dem) 425
Andrew Wedmore (Green) 369
Turnout was 37.22 per cent

Catsfield and Crowhurst

Nicky Bishop (Green) 172
Gary Curtis (Con) 280
Tracy Dixon (Lib Dem) 198
Tony Smith (UKIP) 79
Turnout was 38.4 per cent

Bexhill St Stephens

Richard Carroll (Con) 321
Ashan Jeeawon (Ind) 683
Dick Kempson (Green) 376
Lynn Sharp (UKIP) 220
Mark Sivyer (Con) 294
Richard Thomas (Lib Dems) 380
Alan Watton (Lab) 179
Turnout was 39.41 per cent

Eastern Rother

Bob Ball (Lab) 304
Sally-Ann Hart (Con) 753
Paul Osborne (Con) 722

Sue Schlesinger (Lib Dem) 368
Turnout was 34.64 per cent


Graham Good (Labour) 51
Robert Morris (Con) 220
Sue Prochak (Lib Dem) 569
Turnout was 41.65 per cent

North Battle, Netherfield and Whatlington

Vikki Cook (Lib Dem) 963
Kathryn Field (Lib Dem) 1,059

Christopher Husbands (Lab) 145
Bernard Mabon (UKIP) 165
Paul Redstone (Con) 340
Louise Salter (Con) 389
Turnout was 43.37 per cent

Hurst Green and Ticehurst

Mary Barnes (Con) 704
Graham Browne (Con) 685

Don Nicholls (Green) 412
Martin Saunders (Lib Dem) 502
Turnout was 32.32 per cent

Northern Rother

Jane Emery (Lab) 278
Tony Ganly (Con) 935
Stephen Hardy (Lib Dem) 506
Larry Hyett (Lab) 176
Martin Mooney (Con) 877
Turnout was 40.59 per cent

South Battle and Telham

Daniel Coughlan (Con) 164
Kevin Dixon (Lib Dem) 406
John Gately (Lab) 68
Turnout was 37.78 per cent

Sedlescombe and Westfield

Beverley Coupar (Lab) 391
Carl Maynard (Con) 718
Jim Philcox (Con) 654
Jonathan Vine-Hall (Ind) 866
Turnout was 40.14 per cent

Rye and Winchelsea

Cheryl Creaser (Lab) 397
Ruth Green (UKIP) 207
Chris Hoggart (Ind) 451
Jonathan Lee (Lab) 314
Howard Norton (Lib Dem) 453
Gennette Stevens (Con) 538

Jayne Stevens (Con) 407
Turnout was 39.04 per cent

Southern Rother

Roger Bird (Con) 742
Elaine Lee (Lab) 235
Andrew Mier (Lib Dem) 787
Chris Saint (Con) 664
Nick Warren (Lab) 314
Turnout was 46.35 per cent