Rye group brings home oldest motorsports trophy

A RYE motor racing group has brought home the oldest trophy in the history of the sport

The International Tourist Trophy is an award given by the Royal Automobile Club (RAC). It was first awarded in 1905 and continues to be awarded to this day, making it the longest lasting trophy in Motorsport history.

Now it is in the hands of Sumo Power GT for the second year running after the team lifted it at Silverstone last weekend.

Past winners, engraved on the Trophy, are famous racing legends such as Rudolf Caracciola, Tazio Nuvolari, Sterling Moss, Carrol Shelby, Graham Hill, Denby Hulme, Jochen Mass, Derek Bell, etc.

The Trophy normally resides in the RAC offices at Pall Mall in London and never traditionally leaves those offices.

However, the JRM Group, who runs the only British teams in the championship in the form of Sumo Power GT and JRM Racing, had the trophy on display at its Rye Harbour Road premises for three days this week.