Bexhill celebrate third straight win

Angus Cox top-scored for Bexhill in the win over Glynde & Beddingham
Angus Cox top-scored for Bexhill in the win over Glynde & Beddingham

Bexhill made it three consecutive wins with a four-wicket victory at home to Glynde & Beddingham on Saturday.

The result leaves Malcolm Johnson’s side lying in the second and final promotion place from Sussex Cricket League Division Two, 23 points behind a table-topping Eastbourne side which is yet to drop a point.

After winning the toss and choosing to field at The Polegrove, Bexhill restricted their opponents to 222-7 from their 53 overs. Most of Glynde’s runs came from their top three with opener Chris Stanyard hitting 62 and captain Dominic Shepheard remaining undefeated on 72.

Number four Neil Priddy, a recent recruit from Bexhill’s neighbours Sidley, added 22, but nobody else scored more than 11. Bexhill shared the wickets around with Jamie Wicks, Callum Guest and Johnathan Haffenden bagging two apiece, and Joe Cox claiming the other.

It was again a collective effort with the bat as a series of solid contributions rather than one big score took Bexhill over the line. Number three Angus Cox top-scored with exactly 50, although the winter signing was the only member of the top four to score more than 16.

The middle order performed well, though, with Cameron Burgon making 46 and Tim Hambridge 26 before Guest (28 not out) and Jack Richardson (22 not out) guided Bexhill to victory with 10 balls to spare.

See Friday’s Bexhill Observer for a full report and reaction.

Standings (all played four matches): 1 Eastbourne 120pts, 2 BEXHILL 97, 3 Goring-by-Sea 95, 4 Findon 76, 5 Ifield 71, 6 CROWHURST PARK 64, 7 St James’s Montefiore 64, 8 Pulborough 42, 9 Glynde & Beddingham 37, 10 Middleton 37.