United are ball seven in draw

Danny Ellis on the ball for Hastings United against Bishop's Stortford. Picture by Terry S. Blackman
Danny Ellis on the ball for Hastings United against Bishop's Stortford. Picture by Terry S. Blackman

Hastings United will be ball number seven in this afternoon’s draw for the FA Cup second round.

Cyrille Regis and John Wark will make the draw at Wembley Stadium from around 2.40pm. United’s clubhouse at The Pilot Field will be open from 12noon.

Speaking after the 2-1 victory away to Bishop’s Stortford in the first round proper yesterday, player-manager Sean Ray said: “Ideally we wanted a league side in this round, but we won.

“If we get a non-league side, we want to be at home. If we get a league side, we want to be away. It’s a bit of a lottery in the next round.”

United, from the Ryman League Premier Division, are the lowest ranked side already through to round two, although Slough Town, who face a replay against Mansfield Town, are the lowest team still in the competition.

The U’s could find themselves up against League One clubs such as Sheffield United and Coventry City. Alternatively, they could be paired with fellow non-league teams like Chelmsford City and Harrogate Town.

There will be 20 second round matches in total and teams will battle it out for the right to join the likes of Manchester City, Manchester United, Chelsea and Arsenal in round three.

Matches will be played on the weekend of December 1. News of the draw will follow on this website shortly after it is made.

FA Cup 2nd round draw numbers: 1 Oldham Athletic, 2 Brentford, 3 Chelmsford City, 4 Crawley Town, 5 Luton Town or Nuneaton Town, 6 Notts County, 7 HASTINGS UNITED, 8 Fleetwood Town, 9 Port Vale, 10 Harrogate Town, 11 AFC Bournemouth, 12 Morecambe or Rochdale, 13 Macclesfield Town, 14 Cambridge City or Milton Keynes Dons, 15 Cheltenham Town, 16 Dorchester Town or Plymouth Argyle, 17 Coventry City, 18 York City or AFC Wimbledon, 19 Bury,

20 Chesterfield, 21 Doncaster Rovers, 22 Gillingham, 23 Aldershot Town, 24 Lincoln City or Walsall, 25 Alfreton Town, 26 Southend United, 27 Crewe Alexandra, 28 Sheffield United, 29 Hereford United, 30 Mansfield Town or Slough Town, 31 Oxford United, 32 Rotherham United, 33 Accrington Stanley, 34 Gloucester City or Leyton Orient,

35 Burton Albion or Altrincham, 36 Guiseley or Barrow, 37 Northampton Town or Bradford City, 38 Preston North End, 39 Braintree Town or Tranmere Rovers, 40 Carlisle United.