United boss to return to old club

Hastings United manager Jason Hopkinson
Hastings United manager Jason Hopkinson
Share this article

Jason Hopkinson can look forward to a reunion with former club Lewes next season.

The Hastings United manager, who was previously assistant boss at The Dripping Pan, is set to take his new club back to his old one in the 2011-12 campaign.

According to the FA proposed club allocations, Lewes have been relegated into the Ryman League Premier Division after finishing second-bottom of Blue Square Bet South. They are one of six new clubs set to join the division.

Thurrock are also coming down from Blue Square Bet South, while Metropolitan Police and Leatherhead are going up from Division One South, and East Thurrock United and Wingate & Finchley are joining from Division One North.

Sutton United and Tonbridge Angels are going up to Blue Square Bet South. Croydon Athletic, Folkestone Invicta and Maidstone United are on their way down to Division One South, and Aveley are dropping down to Division One North.

Hastings, of course, finished the 2010-11 Ryman Premier season in the final safe spot of fifth-bottom on goal difference from Aveley despite losing 3-2 at home to the Essex outfit on the final day at the end of last month.

FA proposed club allocations for next season – Ryman League Premier Division: AFC Hornchurch, Billericay Town, Bury Town, Canvey Island, Carshalton Athletic, Concord Rangers, Cray Wanderers, East Thurrock United, Harrow Borough, HASTINGS UNITED, Hendon, Horsham, Kingstonian, Leatherhead, Lewes, Lowestoft Town, Margate, Metropolitan Police, Thurrock, Tooting & Mitcham United, Wealdstone, Wingate & Finchley.