Key trio return for Grinstead trip

Harry Finch is set to return for Hastings Priory against East Grinstead
Harry Finch is set to return for Hastings Priory against East Grinstead

Hastings Priory Cricket Club is set to welcome back three key players for the trip to East Grinstead today (Saturday).

Teenage Sussex professional Harry Finch, captain George Campbell and hard-hitting wicketkeeper/batsman Dave Draper are due to feature as Priory begin the second half of their Sussex Premier League programme.

The reverse fixture on the opening day was abandoned without a ball being bowled, but the league table suggests a close contest could be on the cards as both teams have picked up 146 points from nine matches.

Bexhill and Crowhurst Park are both on home soil in Division Two. Second-placed Bexhill will seek to continue their 100 per cent winning record at The Polegrove against a third-bottom Middleton side which held them to a draw in the reverse fixture.

Buoyed by three wins in their last four league games, fifth-placed Park will host sixth-placed St James’s Montefiore. Park will be without the division’s leading wicket-taker, Paul Brookes, against a team which beat them at the start of the campaign.

Both of those matches will get underway at 1pm. Rye, meanwhile, will seek to consolidate their 37-point lead at the top of the East Sussex Cricket League as they travel to draw specialists Heathfield Park.


Sussex Cricket League, 1st XI Premier League (12.30): East Grinstead v Hastings Priory.

1st XI Division 2 (1): Bexhill v Middleton; Crowhurst Park v St James’s Montefiore.

2nd XI Division 1 (1): Hastings Priory v East Grinstead; Three Bridges v Bexhill.

East Sussex Cricket League (1.30), Division 1: Heathfield Park v Rye; Iden v St Peters.

Division 2: Barcombe v Robertsbridge; Battle v Laughton.

Division 4: Little Common Ramblers v Herstmonceux.

Division 5: Isfield v Bexhill III; Pett v Ringmer II.

Division 6: Hastings Priory III v Waldron; St Peters II v Iden II.

Division 7: Hellingly III v Udimore; Nutley v Battle II; Robertsbridge II v Chiddingly II; Rye II v Alfriston.

Division 8: Bexhill IV v St Peters III; Burwash Weald v Barcombe II; Herstmonceux II v Little Common Ramblers II.

Division 10: Crowhurst Park III v Buxted Park III; Pevensey II v Pett II.

Division 11: Bexhill V v Sidley; Robertsbridge III v Glynde & Beddingham IV.

Division 12: Little Common Ramblers III v Lewes St Michaels III; Rye III v Seaford IV.

Division 13: Hailsham IV v Rye IV; St Peters IV v Crowhurst Park IV.