Olympic champ honours rowing aces

Greg Searle MBE with Bexhill Rowing Club's victorious ladies' junior four
Greg Searle MBE with Bexhill Rowing Club's victorious ladies' junior four

Bexhill Rowing Club was well represented at the Coast Amateur Rowing Association’s annual dinner dance and awards night at the Cooden Beach Hotel.

Bexhill’s successful season meant that their rowers were in for a busy time collecting trophies. And as an added bonus for their efforts, their prizes were awarded by Olympic gold and twice bronze medallist Greg Searle MBE.

First up to collect their Championship Trophy was the ladies’ junior pair of Masie Hill and Katie Skelton, who also claimed a cup for accumulating the most junior points in the ladies’ racing. Later they were joined by Anabelle Laity and India Landy to receive the ladies’ junior fours cup.

Bexhill’s impresive haul of trophies saw the honourable guest give out prizes to Jack Page, Josh Green, Alex Pepper and Rob Johnson (men’s junior fours), Kieran Cahill and Matt Hellier (men’s senior pairs), Dave Jones, Paul Heskett, Steve Hopkins and Greg Payne (men’s vet 40+ and 50+), and Mark Mitchell (senior sculls and most points in men’s senior races).

In the junior league, there were awards for Abbi Little, Laura Quinn, Georgina Pepper and Landy (under-16 mixed quad), and A. Little, Tommy Gooch, and Max and Matt Gollege (under-16 mixed quad).

Bexhill also collected the league winners’ cup together with the junior aggregate. The final trophy awarded by the Olympic champion was the grand aggregate which went to Bexhill and is a reward for all the club rowers who gained a point or more in their races.

The evergreen Peter Anderson received the oldest competitor trophy at the age of 80.

Club captain Nick McCorry said that he was extremely please with the club’s season and is looking forward to even better results next year. Bexhill Rowing Club would like to thank Searle for giving up his time to attend and making the event even more special.