Park bowlers gunning for glory

Egerton Park player Marjorie Hendle
Egerton Park player Marjorie Hendle

Egerton Park Ladies will be gunning for glory in a national indoor bowls knockout tournament today (Sunday).

The Bexhill-based club will meet Riverain IBC in the Yetton Plate final from 2pm. The team has progressed through five rounds having overcome Folkestone IBC 76-74, Atherley IBC 77-72, Worthing IBC 96-72, Horsham IBC 82-79, Denton Island IBC 85-59.

Ladies’ secretary and team member Jan Pilcher said: “We don’t know what to expect in Northampton really. We’ll look to get our lengths and weights in early, but you can never predict how a carpet will play.

“Playing as a team - as a collective of 16 - is special. It will be the first time any of us have played a national final in a team format, though many have played personal finals. Being a team requires different tactics, though, and you’re always keeping an eye on the scoreboard to see how everyone is getting on.”

The final is being played at the neutral venue of Harborough Road Bowls Club in Northampton, and Pilcher is hoping for a good turnout and some good memories of the day.

“We’re determined to play our hearts out,” Pilcher said. “We don’t know anything about Riverain, which is a good thing, and we don’t want to settle for just getting this far.

“Having said that, even if we lose, we’ve done brilliantly this year. It’s been the best season I’ve had at Egerton in my five years here. Hopefully the supporters we have coming along can make some noise and cheer us to victory.”

The Yetton Plate is in its 10th year as a competition, and despite final appearances from Arun and Wealden over the years, Egerton will be the first Sussex club to win it if they’re successful.

But Riverain, from Hitchin, have been in impressive form in the previous rounds, beating Durham IBC 100-56, Peterborough IBC 100-64, County Arts IBC 92-62, Handy Cross IBC 90-71, Hatfield IBC 88-57 and Luton IBC 109-54.

Yetton Plate final line-up, Riverain IBC v Egerton Park IBC: Linda O’Flanagan, Muriel Saunders, Gill Walker, Shirley Page v Jean Noble, Ann Pole, Doreen Hough, Jan Pilcher; Val Bingley, Avril Straw, Shay Mumford, Shirley Hurst v Di Stone, Patricia Newman, Lyndsey Jamison, Lorraine Kemp; Ann Fuller, Jean Hayward, Noreen Gazely, Angie Fabris v Sheila Brown, Doreen Gibbs, Marion Boswell, Marjorie Hendle; Brenda Hollands, Joan Welch, Barbara Eddington, Jenny Ralph v Margaret Adcock, Gwenn Mann, Doris Wickenden, Mandy Carrie.